Go Beyond
Linear Thinking

Awards & Grants

You are here

Dale Strohl '58 Grant Award Recipients

The Dale S. Strohl '58 Award supports research in the Humanities and Social Sciences for students working with any Lehigh faculty member.  A Strohl grant is intended to expand the experiences, perspective and skills of our students through involvement in research. The following students were awarded grants for the work as titled:

Tori Hemsath '20 - Beyond the Building & Up Close & Botanical


Past Recipients

Hadi El-Kebbi '19 - Portraits of Beirut

Andreas Lachler - Architecture of a Modern Day Atlantis

Richard Redd Award

Named for emeritus faculty, Richard Redd this award bestowed annually by faculty to a student with senior standing majoring in art, architecture, design or art history for their outstanding performance in the classroom and studio while making significant contributions to the culture of the department and fostering a healthy espirit de corps.  The 2019 award was split between the following well deserving students: 

Phia Eschenbach-Smith ‘20 - Art Major, Architecture Studio Minor & Product Design Minor

Olivia Fitzgerald ‘20 - Architecture &  Design Major

Past Recipients

Taylor Bogaty '19, Architecture & Design

John Flory '19, Design

Theodore U. Horger '61 Award

The establishment of two permanent endowment funds from his estate: the Theodore U. Horger '61 Visual & Performing Arts Scholarship Fund and the Theodore U. Horger '61 Artist-In-Residence Fund in the Performing & Visual Arts is a most fitting and perpetual memorial of Ted's love for Lehigh and the visual and performing arts.  The 2019-2020 award was split between the following well deserving students: 

Katherine Box '21

Brett DeWeese '21

Minh Le '21


Past Recipients

Sophia Eschenbach-Smith '20 - Art & Architecture

Alexa Nunamaker '20 - Art History


Department Honors

Exceptional students in Art, Architecture and Design may apply for departmental honors at the end of their junior year or at the beginning of their senior year.  To be eligible a student must attain a 3.5 GPA in his or her major program and a minimum overall GPA of 3.0. The following were 2018-2019 Department Honors students

Sophia Eschenbach-Smith '20 - Art & Architecture

Alexa Nunamaker '20 - Design & Art History double major

Olivia Fitzgerald ‘20 - Architecture & Graphic Design double major

Victoria Hemsath ‘20 - Design/Art Major

Jimmy Mora ‘20 - Art & English double major

Sam Pancer ‘20 - Design Major/ Marketing & Apparel Design minor

Langley Peirpont ‘20 - Architecture


Williams Prize

Established in 1908 by Edward H. Williams, professor of geology and mechanical engineering, the Williams Prizes, which range from $200 to $100, recognize outstanding work in writing and performance.  The prize recipients in AAD are:  

English Critical Essay Written by a First-Year Student not in the First-Year Program 

2nd Prize

Sarah Jewel, “Progressing Well”



Multimedia Project  

2nd Prize

Minh Le, “Spring Awakening” 


Amaranth (Williams Representatives: Amaranth Editorial Staff) 

Narrative Art:

1st Prize

Michael A. Beaumont Jr. , Gendered Vignettes   


Business and Economics (Williams Representative: Todd Watkins)  

2nd Prize

Emma Neary, “Fast Fashion: Cheap Trends at a Cheap Price” 


Theatre   (Williams Representative: Deborah Laub) 

 1st Prize (tie)

Claire Ternes, Scenic Design: Godspell 


Creative Writing (Judges: Creative Writing Faculty)  

3rd Prize (tie)

Matthew McClain, “Carcinization”   
Lehigh Review

The Lehigh Review is an entirely student-produced journal of the arts and sciences which contains undergraduate art, scholarly articles, academic essays or book reviews written for a Lehigh course.  The Review publishes submissions which demonstrate imagination, original insight and mastery of the subject. The 2019 twenty-seventh volume included works from the following AAD students:

Phi Beta Kappa

Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest honor society in the United States and is represented at Lehigh by the Beta chapter of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, the 27th oldest in the nation.  This year's recipients are